A few updates

Well, three weeks ago I finished “A Wreath on Sam’s Grave,” my sonnet wreath that I’ve worked on for months.

When I began, inspired by A Wreath for Emmett Till, I had no idea just how much work actually went into the completion of the project. I knew that it wasn’t going to be easy – sonnet writing, particularly when you confine yourself to iambic pentameter, isn’t exactly the path of least resistance. Trying to confine your thoughts to ten beats a line, and then making them rhyme (have YOU ever tried to find a word that rhymes with “Taliban”?) may have been some of the most difficult creative writing I’ve ever attempted.

But it’s completed. And I submitted it to O Dark Thirty, the publication of the Veterans Writing Project. One of their requirements for publication is that the writer must either be active military or veteran, or be immediate family to said same. As I indicated in my cover letter, my grandfather was in the Army Air Corps in WWII, and earned six bronze stars for his service in Europe and Northern Africa. My wife’s grandfather was in the Navy in the Pacific Theater. My father-in-law served in Turkey in the Air Force, and my brother-in-law did a tour with the Marines in Afghanistan.

So I’m pretty qualified there.

Now I just have to wait to hear word back if they actually LIKE my work. It’s been three weeks, and they’re a quarterly publication, so I’m not too worried yet. If they accept it, wonderful. If not, I’ll revise it and submit it elsewhere.

Work can always be revised, God knows that. And my work is no exception. But this is something that I really want to see published, so I’ll keep re-tooling it as needed in order for it to see the light of day.

Thanks for taking this journey with me.

About Joseph F. Berenato

Joseph F. Berenato obtained a B.A. in English and spent four years as the entertainment editor of The Hammonton Gazette before returning to his roots at his family's blueberry farm in Hammonton, NJ. In 2014, Joe conceived, edited, and contributed to New Life and New Civilizations: Exploring Star Trek Comics. He also co-edited three books examining Star Wars and two books examining Planet of the Apes for Sequart with Rich Handley. Joe wrote the introduction for IDW Publishing's Star Trek: Gold Key Archives Volume 3 as well as retrospective essays for that company’s Star Trek #50 and their Star Trek Gold Key 100-Page Spectacular. He also contributed to ATB Publishing's Star Trek anthology Outside In Boldly Goes. He holds a Master of Arts in Writing from Rowan University, and is an adjunct professor with Atlantic Cape Community College in Mays Landing, NJ, where he teaches freshman composition and serves as advisor for the school’s student-run newspaper, the Atlantic Cape Review. You can find Joe at jfberenato.wordpress.com or at www.dinernation.com, and on Twitter at @JFBerenato.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

